Serangoon: Introduction

11 January 2008

Serangoon District is located in the East Region; and the district comprises Serangoon New Town, Serangoon Garden Estate, Braddell Heights Estate and Bartley Estate.

Serangoon is developed in 1982 as the 13th New Town of Singapore. It is one of the three miniature towns conceived in the early 1980s.

Upper Serangoon was populated predominantly by Teochew Chinese with few Malays and Hindus.

Serangoon was named after "Rangong", a species of stork that used to flourish in the swamps around Sungei Serangoon in the past.

English Name: Serangoon
Chinese Name: 实龙岗
Year of urban development: 1982
Total Area: 697 hectares
Neighbourhoods: 8
Population: 111,600
Region: East Region
Heritage Road Corridor: Serangoon
Postal District:
1335 (Braddell Heights Estate)
1953 (Bartley Estate)
1955 (Serangoon New Town & Serangoon Garden Estate)

NE12 / CC13 Serangoon
CC12 Bartley
CC14 Lorong Chuan

Central Expressway (CTE)

Bus Interchange:
Serangoon Bus Interchange


Serangoon: Introduction   © 文彬 2004~2018. All rights reserved.