Tampines: Introduction

08 November 2011

Tampines District is located in the East Region; and the district comprises Tampines New Town, Simei Estate and Tampines Industrial Estate.

Tampines is developed in 1979 as the 11th New Town of Singapore. It is one of the four mega towns conceived in 1979. The precinct planning concept was first introduced in Tampines New Town.

Tampines won the prestigious World Habitat Award 1991 (Developed Country Category). Under the 1991 Concept Plan, Tampines Town Centre is delegated as the regional centre for the East Region.

The name “Tampines” originated from the name of a valuable tree, that provides a strong durable ironwood timber. High demand for the timber makes Tampines tree almost extinct in the area by the early 1980s.

English Name: Tampines
Chinese Name: 淡滨尼
Year of urban development: 1979
Total Area: 1,852 hectares
Residential Land: 33%
Commercial Land: 14%
Industry Land: 19%
Others Land: 34%
Neighbourhoods: 20
Population: 260,900
Region: East Region
Heritage Road Corridor: Serangoon
Postal District:
1648 (Soo Bee & Upper Changi)
1852 (Tampines New Town, Simei Estate & Tampines Industrial Estate)
1953 (Tampines Industrial West, Fish Farm, Teban & Tampines Road 9th Mile)
Telephone Code: 78

EW2 / DT32 Tampines (DTL under construction)
EW3 Simei
DT31 Tampines West (under construction)
DT33 Tampines East (under construction)
DT34 Upper Changi (under construction)

Pan Island Expressway (PIE)
Tampines Expressway (TPE)
Kallang – Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE)

Bus Interchange:
Tampines Bus Interchange


Tampines: Introduction   © 文彬 2004~2018. All rights reserved.